From Herb Day to Inisfree.

23 Jul

017

Sunday saw us off on one of our fairly regular days out. First stop was at The Herbalist’s Apothecary open day. The weather was lovely…a bit cooler than recently which was a relief. The herbalist is Steffan who lives and works in this beautiful cottage which is just outside the village of Dromahair in the county of Sligo.  There were lots of herbal mixes, creams and herbal plants on sale.  There was also lovely vegetarian food provided for all who attended. How generous is that!!

013

The cottage itself is beautiful…gorgeous gothic style windows. Photo is a bit dark but it gives the idea.

015

An eclectic mix of objects give the cottage a lovely feel. Even the windowsills outside are adorned with flowers and lovely little fairy statues.

016

I love the half door too.

020

Late afternoon we headed off for picnic and poetry by the Lake Isle of Inisfree…

021

where cream tea was the order of the day.

023

We had a couple of doggie friends too…little Charlie and the lovely lurcher Osh who has the most gorgeous gentle eyes. They quickly became friends and paddled about at the edge of the lake. 029

It is just so beautiful, calm and relaxing there. We were all very reluctant to leave. It was almost 8 o clock as we made our way back across the fields to our cars.

040

On the way home we spotted this cottage…well you couldn’t really miss it. Certainly not a shy retiring person who dwells here I would think.

I will leave you with the words of WB Yeats .

Lake Isle of Innisfree.

I will arise and go now, and go to Inisfree,

And a small cabin build there, of clay and wattles made,

Nine bean rows will I have there, a hive for the honey bee,

And live alone there in the bee loud glade.

 

And I shall have some peace there, for peace comes dropping slow,

Dropping from the veils of the morning to where the cricket sings.

There midnight all a-glimmer, and noon a purple glow,

And evening full of the linnet’s wings.

 

I will arise and go now, for always night and day.

I hear lake water lapping with low sounds by the shore

While I stand on the roadway, or on the pavements gray,

I hear it in the heart’s deep core.

21 Responses to “From Herb Day to Inisfree.”

  1. cathsveggies1 July 23, 2013 at 8:48 pm #

    Everything looks beautiful. Glad ye had a great day 🙂

  2. Jane July 23, 2013 at 8:49 pm #

    Wish I were there!
    Janex

    • bridget July 24, 2013 at 6:52 am #

      If you recite Yeats poem with intent it brings you right there…

  3. wildsherkin July 23, 2013 at 9:01 pm #

    What a lovely day out! I love the half door with the stained gals – very posh!

    • joanfrankham July 23, 2013 at 10:56 pm #

      Thank you for the poem, I remember bits of it from long ago. what a lovely day out you had.

      • bridget July 24, 2013 at 6:51 am #

        I could only remember the first verse…I had to look it up to find the rest. It’s a really lovely spot.

    • bridget July 24, 2013 at 6:52 am #

      the whole cottage is just beautiful.

  4. Charlie July 23, 2013 at 9:59 pm #

    Great write up, Bridget! Lovely photos, especially Osh and little Charlie! xx

    • bridget July 24, 2013 at 6:50 am #

      Will send you on that pic of Osh and Charlie. Osh just looks so happy in that one. Thanks for the company on that lovely day…it was great.

  5. clcanavan July 23, 2013 at 11:59 pm #

    Seen that exact house (and took the picture too ^^), Smurfs???

    • bridget July 24, 2013 at 6:48 am #

      He He! Apparently a local artist lives there.

  6. Leigh July 24, 2013 at 2:04 am #

    What a lovely day it must have been. I wish we had an herbalist close by like that. I don’t do well trying to grow my herbs from seed and would love a place to buy plants!

    • bridget July 24, 2013 at 6:41 am #

      We are lucky in that respect here in the north west, lots of growers. I know 2 other people who grow herbs so we are spoilt for choice.

  7. Mominthegarden July 24, 2013 at 7:12 am #

    It looks and sounds like it was a beautiful day out! How lovely!

  8. gardendaze July 24, 2013 at 11:30 am #

    Thanks for sharing–I felt as if I was along with you!

  9. linniew July 25, 2013 at 8:43 pm #

    That was lovely, including the lines from Yeats. What a perfect day you spent. I do like the blue cottage too. Summer–it is a busy time, but so worth while to just slow down and enjoy some hours…

    • bridget July 26, 2013 at 9:05 am #

      We always believe in making time to go and explore. So worth it…so much to see.

  10. Rebecca White Body July 25, 2013 at 10:41 pm #

    Thanks for the pictures! I’ve loved the poem for a long time, but your post made me realize that I’ve never actually SEEN images from Innisfree. Now I join Yeats in wanting to go there too…

    • bridget July 26, 2013 at 9:06 am #

      It really is such a gorgeous spot…and the water is always lapping softly there.

  11. Donna@Gardens Eye View July 26, 2013 at 11:52 pm #

    What a wonderful trip ending with a lovely tea and a colorful cottage.

    • bridget July 27, 2013 at 4:19 am #

      would love to have had tea inside the cottage!!

Leave a comment