A quote for Sunday.

14 Jul

018

 

“If you really think the environment is less important than the economy, try holding your breath while you count your money.”

Dr. Guy McPherson.

24 Responses to “A quote for Sunday.”

  1. The Earth Beneath My Feet July 14, 2013 at 5:39 pm #

    Love the quote so much I’ve used it as my FB status 🙂

  2. june July 14, 2013 at 5:44 pm #

    Hear! Hear! Excellent quote by an intelligent and ‘awake’ human being.

    • bridget July 14, 2013 at 6:30 pm #

      A rare breed I’m afraid. x

  3. cathsveggies1 July 14, 2013 at 8:18 pm #

    Here…Here!

    • june July 14, 2013 at 9:24 pm #

      Y’know, in all the time I’ve heard or said that very popular phrase, I’ve never been sure if it’s ‘Here! Here!’ (as in ‘Here’s to that!’ or ‘Hear! Hear!'(as in ‘Hear this, people!’ Both ways make sense. 🙂 Either way, it’s a brilliant quote from a wise man.

      • cathsveggies1 July 15, 2013 at 9:35 am #

        You have made me wonder about it now,June. 🙂

  4. susiestories July 14, 2013 at 8:51 pm #

    Great, Bridget! x

    Sent from my iPad

  5. Sarah July 14, 2013 at 11:11 pm #

    What a great quote – I wonder if the current UK Secretary of State for the Environment has ever come across it?

    • bridget July 15, 2013 at 8:47 am #

      Maybe we should email it to him/her.

  6. KL July 14, 2013 at 11:48 pm #

    Good one. The problem is people think that breathing and nature are all things that humans dominate; thus, if you tell other such things, they will tell that they have rights to exploit nature….

    • bridget July 15, 2013 at 8:48 am #

      That’s the problem…a lot of humans think they have dominion over everything.

  7. Jane July 15, 2013 at 1:48 am #

    Think I’m gonna steal this.
    Jane x

    • bridget July 15, 2013 at 8:48 am #

      Steal away Jane…that’s what I did.

  8. Linne July 15, 2013 at 2:07 am #

    So true! ~ Linne

  9. Linne July 15, 2013 at 2:35 am #

    I borrowed it for my facebook status, too 😉 Worth thinking about, right?

  10. Eco Farm Gal July 15, 2013 at 11:55 am #

    Reblogged this on Peaceful Patches Eco Farm and commented:
    This quote is a gem to bring home the immediacy and priority of environmental issues! Thanks, Bridget!

  11. islandthreads July 16, 2013 at 12:05 pm #

    sounds like coming home to a paradise Sara, your veg growing is encouraging me to want to grow more, I am thinking I need to make a larger area for veggies, your flower garden looks beautiful as ever and your cephalaria gigantea are doing much better than the one I bought 2 years ago, long may you continue to enjoy summer, Frances x

  12. islandthreads July 16, 2013 at 12:50 pm #

    hello Bridget I’m having trouble commenting again, , it’s an akismet problem and they know about it and are trying to rectify it, because of the problem I copied my comments and today thought I’d try again, I just posted the wrong! comment on your blog, of course this time it posted, I’ve tried to post this apology before I hope this one shows, Frances
    p.s. my comments are filling your spam folder

  13. Foxglove Lane July 16, 2013 at 4:38 pm #

    Can’t believe how you have worked your magic yet again, on this new garden! Am green with envy….been browsing your progress in past posts…..just wonderful! Enjoy the heatwave:~))

    • bridget July 17, 2013 at 7:26 am #

      Thanks Catherine! Am enjoying the slightly cooler weather more than the raging heat of the previous week.

  14. madcrowherbals July 17, 2013 at 7:42 pm #

    Exactly.

    Michael

Leave a Reply

