Memories of Summer 2014.

11 Jul

032

Blackcurrant time again and the rush is on to get as many as possible before the Blackbirds. All our nets are in use on the vegetable beds so it a case of who gets the ripe fruits first. Luckily we have a lot of Blackcurrant bushes.

Rather than standing by the plants picking… which I find rather back breaking…I cut off the branches and sit in comfort at the table whilst I harvest.  The fruit is frozen in one kilos lots to be used later to make jams, cordials and chutneys. Nothing like making Blackcurrant jam on a cold Winter’s day to bring back memories of Summer.

As I work I listen to the radio. The news is full of Israels attacks on Palestine. It is so heartbreaking to think of what these people are going through. Why should any human being be subjected to this suffering? Why should any Mother or Father have to dig with their bare hands to retrieve their dead child from the rubble of their home? Why oh why is the rest of the world standing by in silence?

Later I look on the internet and the horror is there for all to see. Graphic footage of dead and injured human beings. Such pain and suffering. It’s bad enough looking from a distance but what’s it like to be there?

One and a half million people live in Gaza. They are watched and blockaded from every angle. That makes the Gaza strip the biggest open prison on our planet.

Now I know this blog has many followers from the USA and if my opinion differs from yours so be it. America’s support of Israel is what is giving them the power to carry out these atrocities. Do you know your government gives Israel over three billion dollars in aid every year? Barack Obama has not come out in condemnation of these attacks and our own Irish government is equally silent.  In the last 4 days over one hundred people have been murdered. A quarter of these are children.

I wonder if this will still be going on as I make my preserves in the depths of Winter. Not so sweet memories of Summer 2014.

20 Responses to “Memories of Summer 2014.”

  1. charlieeasterfield July 11, 2014 at 11:49 pm #

    At the start of your post I was going to joke about you hexing our rare summer here,as if it’s over!
    As I still have jams and chutneys from last year, and blackcurrants still lurking in the fridge, (not being as industrious as ye are), I have not yet ventured to my un-netted blackcurrant bushes and Rosa Rugosa, to see what havoc the magpies have wrought…..

    Then I read your words about Gaza, which I totally agree with. It’s why I’m taking a sabbatical from facebook… as one of my friends commented “More garden, less faceass”.

    The world-wide stories of pain and suffering, of human and ecological genocide, fill me with such deep sadness…..those two hundred kidnapped girls in Nigeria, that were ‘yesterdays story’, the Ebola virus that one might almost suspect of having been re-introduced to Africa,….the wars worldwide that are almost all to do with the world’s depleting resources….or last ditch attempts from fundamentalists to control people to their ends…… the Mega-national companies working to control, modify and make money from the seeds of life, to control the earth’s ever-dwindling water resources…let alone the mad dash for shale oil and tar sands oil, because Capitalism cannot survive without fossil fuels….

    I for one need to re-ground myself in the work of propagating plants and saving seeds, on however a puny scale; of spending quiet time with plants and land, and sharing love with those whose paths I cross……Love is the one thing “they” cannot take from us….who was it wrote “Hope dies last”? xx

  2. Anne Wilson July 12, 2014 at 12:12 am #

    We agree with everything that you have said Bridget about Gaza, the reports from the BBC are sickening, they seem to put the blame on the Palestinians, no mention of the fact that the Israelis have bulldozed thousands of Palestinian homes destroyed their crops and as you rightly say have imprisoned them. The money sent to Israel from the US is a total disgrace.

  3. Melissa @ The Glen House July 12, 2014 at 1:17 am #

    Tough post to read, but well written and heart felt.

    On a lighter note, I must get me some blackberries.

  4. WoodlandBard July 12, 2014 at 8:46 am #

    First, kudo’s for Charlie’s response. That’s the best thing we do Charlie, doing what you are doing to reground. It keeps us in the mode of love and reminds as what it is about.

    However, I will go wider due to a surprise experience I had with a small visiting group this week. They were the usual happy, inspiring, love and peace people from the USA that we love to meet and share with … but they have their borders. They were shocked at the mosques they have seen in Ireland, including Mayo.

    They were even more shocked at my attitude of “well that’s nice”. Personally, I think all temples are really a waste but if its where people find their ability to love, that’s ok … though I will continue my life mission of encouraging people to find this outdoors.

    Even so, the shock to me is the assumption that islam/moslems = terrorism.

    The visitors questioned me about the temples and gradual Islamic “take over” of Ireland and that we should stop it. I do not see it that way. Maybe soon more people will attend mosques in Ireland than attend catholic churches, but really what difference does that make? Of course I hope more people find their churches in their forests, woods and gardens instead, but also respect where they choose to find love.

    Maybe the increase of mosques will have an affect on tourism in Ireland. Sad if it does … though perhaps I feel it is sad if more people seek refuge and sanctuary in any kind of temple above what nature provides. I personally find temples are a genocide of space and a separation from nature no matter what religion is controlled within them.

    Israeli vs Palestinians seems to be temple based, a kind of Game Of Thrones between temples … but the Israelis do seem to be the ongoing bullies. I loathe even making that judgement.

    • bridget July 12, 2014 at 6:05 pm #

      Sometimes John one has to make a judgment. It was’nt one I made overnight either. As to your American visitors…this is what they are being brainwashed through their media. America has a lot to answer for…UK too. Without their backing this attempted genocide would not be happening. Churches, if they make the attendees into better people I’ve no problem with that, but in my experience, having attended Catholic churches and later Hare Krsna temples, that does not happen. There is always that feeling of “my way is the only way.” No one way is the right way, be it temple or forest. Tolerance, humility and respect towards others is what’s needed. There’s room for all beliefs and none so long as all have love in their hearts.

      • WoodlandBard July 12, 2014 at 7:06 pm #

        When something is built by us humans it seems there is always a lot of love intent and pride that inspires this … but then this gets ordered, house rules, doctrines, “this is our way, if you don’t like it – get out”. The original love intent is lost and power takes over. Power move on into possession and here we have Israel in the news now. Same thing sadly happens in our small personal relationships too.

      • bridget July 12, 2014 at 8:05 pm #

        Therein lies the problem…when love is lost.

      • WoodlandBard July 12, 2014 at 8:24 pm #

        My Chinese boss in Utah of many years ago, a man of simple words, did not like people ordering other people. He would come up to us and say “you need to go and get married again”. He also said “marriage is as much about reconciliation as it is about union” – now a foundation theme at our tree labyrinth here.

  5. Small House Under a Big Sky July 12, 2014 at 11:16 am #

    Such a sad time in the world. Holding our loved ones close and praying for those who are in harms way.

  6. Jane July 12, 2014 at 11:38 am #

    The human made world is so depressing…it;s all gone horribly wrong.
    Jane x

  7. Willowarchway July 12, 2014 at 12:50 pm #

    Well said Brigit, but we only know what we are being fed. It must be awful to live in these situations, we can only begin to guess……. LJ went to pick Blackcurrants this week and they had all GONE !!!!! Missed out by just a few days, never mind at least the birds had a feast, and we still have plenty of wine from last year! 🙂

    • bridget July 12, 2014 at 6:09 pm #

      Can’t imagine the horror of living under this bombardment. Best buy some nets before next years harvest!

  8. Beth @ PlantPostings July 13, 2014 at 4:37 am #

    The entire situation saddens me. I agree, it just seems so wrong that any people are killed like that–but especially children. The Black Currants, however, look tasty. I do hope the world is in a better place when you make your preserves.

  9. Donna@GardensEyeView July 13, 2014 at 2:36 pm #

    I am also upset over this over the top reaction and still because it is Israel we remain silent…I pray for a peaceful solution daily.

    I fight the birds as well for my berries…I have never tasted fresh picked black currants and maybe I can clear a section of my garden for more berry bushes (for me)…I grow other berry producing native shrubs for the birds.

  10. Valkrye July 13, 2014 at 3:08 pm #

    Hello Bridget, Been subscribed to your lovely blog for a little while now and enjoy reading all your posts~ this is the first time I have commented however, but all you say here is true and although I am American I am far from blind to the many things ‘we’ do and have done~in many areas of life. If people would take the time to really read about the history of the state of Israel they might have a more fair and balanced view of the how this situation started in the first place ~ It is a very difficult issue to discuss with most people here. but without spelling it out,there are many many powerful people who live in the U.S. that make it next to impossible for the U.S to take a difference stance ~ I think the pressure must be enormous for whoever the current President is at any time over the last 40 or more years, to not fall in line with the Israeli line~ even when Obama has made it obvious in the past that he disagreed with the president of Israel and the tact he was taking, Obama was roundly criticized by Republicans and many so called Christian groups ect for not wholeheartedly supporting Mr Netenyahu. Although it does not make it right that Mr Obama does not stand up and condemn what is happening outright ~ I am sure his personal view is not aligned with Mr Netenyahu. I really can not imagine what an Huge backlash there would be so on many levels by all the very influential ‘interested ‘ parties which exist in the U.S. I do not know how this will ever be satisfactorily solved but know as long as the US appears to only support one side there will always be hate and fear directed to the West and the US in particular by many in Arab countries

  11. Ali Beach July 13, 2014 at 7:01 pm #

    As always a wonderful blog and thank you for raising the issue of Gaza..Yes, Gaza is the biggest prison on the planet which very few Palestinians can ever escape from. Israel and the USA continue to flaunt international law again and again and will continue to do so until they have ethnically cleansed the whole of what remains of Palestine. It’s a shame that the Zionist regime don’t seen to have learnt anything from what the Jews suffered in the past. History is indeed repeating itself. I hope others will join in the international demonstrations planned for next Saturday.

  12. linniew July 15, 2014 at 10:23 pm #

    Hi Bridget. I can completely identify with your feelings about the international awfulness– your opinions are actually widely held here (US) though you may not hear much about it in the news. Victor Hugo wrote that society take steps forward but then slips back a little but always there is overall progress. I hope he was right. It is a difficult planet…

    • bridget July 20, 2014 at 7:56 pm #

      At the moment it is very hard to see that progress. So much violence, lies, deceit and general malaise going on in the world.

  13. miriam k October 14, 2014 at 8:06 pm #

    Hi Bridget, I’ve missed your blog. I hope all is well with you. This hasn’t been a great year for me either. Hope you made lots of jam

  14. June November 3, 2014 at 2:37 pm #

    Hi Bridget – I’ve not heard from you in what feels like too long a time. I’m here if you want to chat…or maybe we can meet up in Sligo or Carrick or Boyle some time, for lunch and a catch-up. I hope all is well with you. Love, June

Leave a Reply

