Sunny Easter days.

21 Apr

007

The weather here has been great for weeks now. However the last week has seen temperatures rise to 18c. Perfect weather for being outdoors. The Daffodils are just finished blooming  but the Primroses are playing a blinder this year.

001

Freddie loves the hot weather…his new fave place to sit is on this leatherette chair in the conservatory. It gets really hot when it’s sunny but he just loves it.

109

The heat has ensured plants have put on a great growth spurt. Lots of things in flower a bit earlier than usual. Delighted that our Lemon is about to flower. Apparently the scent is lovely.

016

Geraniums are also in flower… this one is  lemon scented.

004

The Fig is also showing the promise of fruit…

015

 

and the Grapevine has put on a lot of fresh growth.

020

This Kiwi was planted in the conservatory by the previous owners. It was far too rampant so we dug it up and put it in a pot to see if it would resprout in the Spring.  As you can see it has sprung into life. It is now planted on the south facing wall of the shed where hopefully it will do well.

019

Andy put up a trellis for it to climb onto and the overhang of the roof should give some extra protection. I’ll be well pleased if we get some Kiwis. All for me as Andy doesn’t like them.

080

We had friends from Finland staying with us for a couple of days over the weekend and on Good Friday we went on a bog walk from Knockvicar Organic Garden to Cloonakilty Castle on the shore of Lough Key.

106

Andy and Katri managed to get inside the castle…

101

while Don and I relaxed in the sunshine. Restoration work was started on this castle a few years ago…there was even talk of a recording studio…but alas it has lain unfinished for several years now. A lovely place to explore though.

116

On Easter Saturday we went to visit my friend Charlie in Manorhamilton. What could be better on a hot sunny day than sitting on the verandah with a friend gazing at beautiful Magnolias in bloom.

113

Such beautiful flowers. I shall have to think about getting a Magnolia for our garden. Is it possible to be in love with a flower? I think I am!

Hope you too had a wonderful weekend.

19 Responses to “Sunny Easter days.”

  1. gardendaze April 21, 2014 at 6:39 pm #

    Bridget,
    You’ll love the scent of the lemon–I’ve had one perfuming my den for weeks now.

    Enjoy your lovely weather. Ours is still a bit cool. We had snow again last week but luckily it melted away quickly. April can be so fickle!

    Karla

    • bridget April 21, 2014 at 8:24 pm #

      So looking forward to that Lemon blossom opening soon.

  2. Eliza Waters April 21, 2014 at 6:40 pm #

    Things are looking so lovely – your primroses are stunning!

    • bridget April 21, 2014 at 8:25 pm #

      It’s such a great time of the year. Everything is just growing like crazy.

  3. Melissa @ The Glen House April 21, 2014 at 7:31 pm #

    So they are primroses!! I thought they might be…. They have sprung up in all sorts of random places around The Glen House. Does that type of primrose only grow in the wild?

    • bridget April 21, 2014 at 8:23 pm #

      Mostly in the wild but the previous owner had planted lots of them in our garden. When established they self seed at a great rate. I love them! Also bought in some Cowslips this Spring so hopefully they will spread too.

      • Melissa @ The Glen House April 21, 2014 at 8:30 pm #

        They are so pretty, and perfect for Easter! Thanks for letting me know…

  4. madcrowherbals April 21, 2014 at 7:44 pm #

    Yay, for sunny springtime Sundays!

    Michael

  5. Anne Wilson April 22, 2014 at 12:23 am #

    The Primroses were brilliant last year as well but they have excelled themselves this year.

  6. cindyricksgers April 22, 2014 at 3:21 pm #

    Wow, you are way ahead of us, as far as the approach of Spring! I still have snow covering much of my garden, and the daffodils are just beginning to poke out of the ground. Lovely pictures!

    • bridget April 22, 2014 at 5:31 pm #

      It is an early start this year. Plums are already in flower and the Daffodils are just finished flowering.

  7. Mominthegarden April 22, 2014 at 5:47 pm #

    Ah things are looking lovely! We’ve been fortunate with the weather. I think it’s been a bit warmer where you are though! Happy Easter!

  8. PlantPostings April 23, 2014 at 1:29 am #

    How fun–we’re both growing Lemons for the first time. Mine started blooming yesterday and it does, indeed, smell wonderful! Will you hand pollinate yours, or is it going outside? Our temperatures aren’t quite warm enough yet, but I plan to put it outside from mid-May through early October. All your plants look great, and I can understand why the dog likes the warm room!

  9. Willowarchway April 23, 2014 at 12:40 pm #

    We also noticed that the primroses are very visual this year, aren’t they lovely? I’m glad you’re going to have lemons, how old is your plant and did you buy it or sow seed? Hope Andy managed to get out of ‘jail’?Hee Hee.

    • bridget April 30, 2014 at 7:07 pm #

      The lemon was a rescue plant. It was looking neglected in a friend’s polytunnel and I rescued it. After repotting and a feed it started to come back to life.

  10. Pam's English Garden April 23, 2014 at 7:18 pm #

    I just got back from England where I was amazed at the early flowers! Here I have just daffodils and hellebores, but lots of promising buds everywhere. I must get a lemon geranium this year! P. x

  11. wellywoman April 25, 2014 at 11:03 am #

    Hasn’t the weather just been so gorgeous. It’s wet and chilly here today but really I can’t complain. I’m very jealous that you have a lemon about to flower. The scent is incredible – one of my favourites. Have a lovely weekend.

  12. Pam's English Garden April 27, 2014 at 11:11 am #

    Your spring garden is lovely, Bridget. My primroses are just coming into bloom. I love them as they remind me of home. I have only just started my spring cleanup, so you are way ahead of me. P. x

  13. Karen B April 30, 2014 at 6:16 am #

    What inspirational photos and what a good gardener you are! I am sorry not to have visited before to thank you for your interest in my blog. I too posted an Easter greeting to everyone. It was a photo of a Denby Ware bunny with HUGE EARS!
    I loved everything garden related on your post, but I have to confess, it was Freddie who won my heart! He is so gorgeous!-Karen.

Leave a Reply

