The joys of Spring.

22 Feb

034

 

Snowdrops in bloom…a sign that Spring is really here. An exciting time when the possibilities of the year ahead open up in front of us. A time for sowing seeds and watching the new growth enliven our gardens and the wider landscape once again. The longer days fill our hearts and souls with joy and enthusiasm.

The botanical name for the common Snowdrop is Galanthus nivalis. Galanthus is of Greek origin and means milk white flower. Nivalis is a Latin word meaning resembling snow.

Superstition says it is unlucky to bring those pretty flowers indoors.

008

 

Rhubarb has also poked it’s head above ground. Hard to believe those little buds will turn into those gigantic stalks and leaves. In gardening books it is always classified as a vegetable but for me a plant that can be used to make delicious tarts, crumbles and jams is definitely a fruit.

Apparently Rhubarb grows all year round in warm climates. It’s only the cold Winters of our temperate climate which make it retreat underground.

009

 

In the polytunnel the Swiss Chard is still producing lots of leaves…

010

 

and Winter Purslane sends forth it’s little leaves full of Vitamin C. At this time of year I really crave salads and dream of Summer days when they will be plentiful again. I look forward to the joy of watching those first heads of Summer Lettuce grow.

012

 

Periwinkle didn’t die back at all this year and is already producing its pretty little blue flowers.

006

By the front door multi coloured Primulas are bright and cheerful. These will be planted out in the garden after flowering and will hopefully form clumps and continue to flower for many more years.

16 Responses to “The joys of Spring.”

  1. Dave February 22, 2014 at 12:35 am #

    Beautiful. I can’t wait to get back into my garden. I’ve been planning for weeks… much longer than I normally would do.
    Thanks for sharing the pictures. We are just now starting to see the ground again in central PA.

    • bridget February 22, 2014 at 10:02 am #

      Hope the weather stays good for us all now. March here last year was so cold…

  2. silverbells2012 February 22, 2014 at 7:57 am #

    I saw the name ‘periwinkle’ for the first time yesterday and wondered what it looked like!

    It is great to see the snowdrops and rhubarb, isn’t it? There was even some of the latter on sale at the local organic farm yesterday ūüôā

    • bridget February 22, 2014 at 10:01 am #

      Love seeing them as one always hopes good weather is now on its way. Heres to an early Spring. Can’t wait to get started.

      • silverbells2012 February 22, 2014 at 10:31 am #

        Someone commented to me the other day that the snowdrops this year are not doing as well as last, which seems strange considering how much nicer it’s been (in terms of tempetature). Maybe they really do like snow?!

  3. Christina February 22, 2014 at 8:44 am #

    Would the chard not be OK outside, I always grew it on my allotment in England and your winters aren’t usually very cold are they? Here I’ve been picking all winter and have new seedlings to replace the old when they start to seed.

    • bridget February 22, 2014 at 10:00 am #

      I’m sure they would but at the time they were ready for planting that was the only free space. You do get bigger leaves from indoor plants.

      • Christina February 22, 2014 at 12:54 pm #

        That’s interesting perhaps I should grow some inside the greenhouse next winter.

  4. narf77 February 22, 2014 at 5:46 pm #

    I live in one of those “warmer climates” and seeing that periwinkle just made me twitch! It doesn’t die off and takes over the garden along with banana passionfruits, blackberries and many other weeds that love our mild rainy winters. It is so dry and dusty here we can’t wait for a bit of wintery weather and some much needed rain. The last time we had any kind of sky precipitation was back in early December!

  5. Sarah February 22, 2014 at 9:19 pm #

    It’s so nice to see the snowdrops, and now the crocus and hellebores too. Feels like spring should be coming. I was interested to read about the superstition around bringing snowdrops indoors – I had a feeling that it was unlucky but couldn’t remember where I’d heard it before. You’ve confirmed for me that the flowers should definitely stay in the garden!

  6. KerryCan February 22, 2014 at 9:58 pm #

    I guess I’ll be living spring vicariously for two or three months, until what you have now makes it to us in upstate New York! Nice to see color!

  7. SmallHouseBigGarden March 3, 2014 at 10:59 am #

    Your growing season is much longer than ours was in Massachusetts. This time of year up there we’d be under snowpack, and nothing even starts to show until May! I always love seeing primula and always associate them with England and Ireland. They looks so cottagey and cute!

  8. Donna@GardensEyeView March 15, 2014 at 12:49 am #

    Glorious blooms already!

  9. puppiesinparadise March 16, 2014 at 5:43 pm #

    I wanted to ask if you have been growing crops in your poly tunnel during the winter? I see no heat source of lighting. If so how did your winter harvest go? I live in Sweden. I recently found a book written by a Canadian woman saying she has a winter harvest with cold boxes and poly tunnels. I haven’t gone to a book store to check her book out. It is on my to do list.

    • bridget March 16, 2014 at 10:41 pm #

      This was our first year in the polytunnel as we just moved last year. Over Winter we have had Swiss Chard, Parsley, Winter Purslane, Oriental Greens and Spring Onions. No heating in the polytunnel but it is pretty sheltered.

      • puppiesinparadise March 17, 2014 at 9:02 am #

        Thank you for answer my question. I have found instuctions on the net to build a inexpensive polytunnel. We have been discussing building one. The årpblem for us is where we would put it. I guess we will reserach it further. I hope that you will be writing and taking photos of your progress with growing in the polytunnel. I have been interested how other people have faired with them. I am impressed that you were able to grow such a variety of crops. I am looking forward to following your blog.
        Honey

Leave a Reply

