Waiting…

12 Jan

015

 

It’s a wet Sunday here in Ireland today. Just thought I’d post a few pics of Summer flowers to cheer us up as we wait for the gardening season to start. I find this time of year the longest part of Winter.  Up to Christmas we are busy with fairs and preparations for the festive season. Then suddenly it’s January and all is quiet…far to wet to work in the garden…a little early for planting seeds.

001

 

What to do? We have been busy finishing things off in the house. The spare bedroom and our own bedroom are now decorated. The larder was painted and sorted as of yesterday. Today I processed the first of the Seville Oranges…a year’s supply of  marmalade by the end of the coming week.

006

 

There are still a few things to be done in the conservatory.  Andy is putting a stove in there this week then a rejig of furniture and that will be done. There’s lots to be done outdoors but mostly fair weather jobs.

As I see plants budding my desire is to  get out there and get my hands in the soil once again.

But for now I must wait…

24 Responses to “Waiting…”

  1. quarteracrelifestyle January 12, 2014 at 6:25 pm #

    Beautiful!

  2. Gede Prama January 12, 2014 at 6:48 pm #

    Dear friend, Thank you very much, I was really happy to have been following your blog. I’m still a lot to figure out, and here I can only say that you are an awesome blogger, full Inspiring and hope you can inspire more readers. Thanks and greetings compassion from Gede Prama 🙂

    • bridget January 12, 2014 at 9:35 pm #

      Thank you for visiting my blog and of course your kind words.

  3. cathsveggies1 January 12, 2014 at 7:03 pm #

    It seems we are all itching to get our hands dirty….soooon 🙂

  4. Kevin January 12, 2014 at 7:42 pm #

    Your photos worked. I’m cheered up. 🙂

    • bridget January 12, 2014 at 9:37 pm #

      Great! My mission is succcessful!

  5. cindyricksgers January 12, 2014 at 9:02 pm #

    Brilliant! How nice to see all these beautiful blooms on this gloomy winter day! Thanks. Bridget!

    • bridget January 12, 2014 at 9:39 pm #

      The week to come is promising more of the same. could be worse I suppose.

  6. Jane Unland January 12, 2014 at 9:22 pm #

    Lovely pictures did brighten my day. Thank you!

  7. Deliberating Dave January 12, 2014 at 11:23 pm #

    Beautiful. I love the pictures and can’t wait until I can plant this spring.

  8. pianolearner January 13, 2014 at 10:04 am #

    very wet here for the last three weeks at least. 🙂

  9. june January 14, 2014 at 11:40 am #

    Beautiful! These photos are so cheerful and so vivid – perfect for what we need on these wet, cold and dreary first few weeks into the new year. From the sound of it, you’ve put all that waiting time to very good use, getting so much done. I wish I could be as productive…winter usually puts me into hibernation mode, instead 🙂

    • bridget January 14, 2014 at 10:03 pm #

      I’ve been hibernating indoors but working away so that when the weather clears I can spend lots of time in the garden.

  10. andreamynard January 14, 2014 at 11:53 am #

    Just enjoying your blog after seeing it over at the garden deli. So lovely to see gorgeous pics of colourful blooms at this time of year, thank you!

    • bridget January 14, 2014 at 10:04 pm #

      A cheer us up post!

  11. Princess Chaos's Oma January 14, 2014 at 10:42 pm #

    Thanks for the “like!” I love your photos!

  12. sweffling January 15, 2014 at 9:59 pm #

    I know, I am itching to get to work, but at the moment would do more harm than good. Lovely, cheerful photos, thanks:)

  13. PlantPostings January 17, 2014 at 2:35 am #

    Beautiful summer shots! I’m feeling a little cabin fever over here in the states because it has been sooo cold. I hope we have an early spring because it has been a tough winter. How nice that you have a conservatory! Soon you will be out in the garden enjoying the spring weather.

    • bridget January 17, 2014 at 5:36 pm #

      So looking forward to that day!

  14. KL January 21, 2014 at 12:13 pm #

    Those are some lovely flower blooms. How does your foxglove stand so erect? Mine starts bending over and flop.

    Same feeling here. Can’t wait any longer

    • bridget January 22, 2014 at 9:40 pm #

      Maybe our Foxgloves are’nt as tall as yours!

  15. wellywoman January 22, 2014 at 2:11 pm #

    It’s nice to remind myself, at this time of year to remind ourselves what the garden looked like in summer. Looking at the soil at the allotment it’s hard to imagine it covered in plants and flowers.

    • bridget January 22, 2014 at 9:43 pm #

      It’s nice to have the pics to inspire our imaginations at this time of year. Hopefully we will get away with the mild weather we have been having. Fingers crossed!

Leave a Reply

