Mist.

9 Jan

006

What is it about mist that’s so enchanting?

007

I love how it slowly, silently,  envelops everything.

008

It gives an aura of mystery and magic.

009

Bringing with it stillness and a deep quiet. The magic of the mist.

16 Responses to “Mist.”

  1. vsperry January 9, 2014 at 1:06 am #

    I do love mist…Heavy fog, however, makes me claustrophobic.

    • bridget January 9, 2014 at 9:21 am #

      Yes, heavy fog is taking it a step too far, especially if it goes on for days.

  2. jeremystormsky January 9, 2014 at 3:45 am #

    Beautiful

    • bridget January 9, 2014 at 9:22 am #

      It was quite beautiful.

  3. The Earth Beneath My Feet January 9, 2014 at 6:20 am #

    Our whole valley was covered in mist on Tuesday (bizarre as it’s summer but anyway) and I thought the same thing, i.e. why is it so magical? Basically it hides what you know is out there and creates a canvas on which your imagination can run wild.

    • bridget January 9, 2014 at 9:23 am #

      Yes, I think you’ve sussed it there. The imagination goes into overdrive. That’s probably why they use fog so much in scary movies.

      • The Earth Beneath My Feet January 9, 2014 at 9:32 am #

        LOL I never though of that Bridget but you’re absolutely right. Send shivers down my spine just thinking about it! 🙂

    • june January 9, 2014 at 3:08 pm #

      Beautifully expressed! That’s exactly what I feel about mist (not so much, though, when it comes to heavy or very dense fog). There’s something very magical and mystical…sometimes unsettling, sometimes fantasy-childlike wonderment – that’s the imagination running free,

      • The Earth Beneath My Feet January 10, 2014 at 5:32 am #

        Wow, just as beautifully expressed June. I’m not crazy about driving through the kind that envelops you in swirls. I really do want to know what’s on the other side rather than guess 🙂

  4. Christina January 9, 2014 at 7:53 am #

    I can’t agree with you about the mist, we’re lucky and there is rarely any mist or fog just in the area where I live. I hate the wet air and the damage it causes to plants.

    • bridget January 9, 2014 at 9:25 am #

      Must be a different type of mist you get as this mist is very light and not damaging to plants. It was followed last night by frost though.

  5. Small House Under a Big Sky January 9, 2014 at 12:50 pm #

    “I enter the world called real as one enters a mist.” Julien Green

    Lovely post.

    Small House / Big Sky Donna

  6. Mominthegarden January 9, 2014 at 1:39 pm #

    I love the mist too Bridget! I grabbed my camera and took a bunch of photos – it was fun to get such a different feel to everything! I love your pictures, beautiful.

  7. japawomo January 9, 2014 at 2:30 pm #

    We rarely get fog or mist here,but when we do I imagine that Heathcliff will emerge from the swirl.
    Jane x

    • june January 9, 2014 at 3:09 pm #

      I think of The Shire and hobbits 🙂

  8. GFwinecountryliving January 9, 2014 at 7:50 pm #

    Love these pictures!

Leave a Reply

