Yards and fairs and discovering new places.

3 Dec

003

 

I always hate getting diggers in but sometimes needs must. I always hated the big bed that took up a large area of the front yard.

005

 

It would have been impossible…well maybe not impossible but damn hard work to do this work by hand. Our backs are worth more than that. Three trucks loads of soil and overgrown plants were taken away. Thankfully the weather has continued to be dry so there was’nt too much of a mess.

 

013

By evening all was done and we now have a spacious new yard.

033

 

Saturday and Sunday saw us taking stalls at local craft fairs. The Organic Centre in Rossinver had their fair on Saturday and on Sunday we attended the fair in Manorhamilton in north Leitrim. Andy has got back into glass painting recently…I love this heart design. It sold well as it isn’t priced too high…ideal for pressies.

038

 

We totally sold out of night lights. Very affordable at 5 euros each.

036

 

I made my usual supply of Caramel slices…

037

 

and the ever popular Melting Moments.

042

 

On Monday I went to Boyle where I have started volunteering one day a week in a charity shop. Being a little early I decided to have a little stroll by the river. To my surprise the path didn’t end where I expected it to at the end of the shops. Instead I saw a stone sign with The Lawns written on it. Following the path I found myself in a previously unknown little park. It’s really just a path along by the river but it is pretty.

041

 

Some lovely mature trees here. So delighted with this little discovery. I will make time to walk here in future. By the way…can you see the face in this Beech tree? I didn’t see it until I looked at the pics on the computer.  He looks…well I think it’s a he…Oriental to me. Had a bit of a relaxing day today after such a busy few days.

27 Responses to “Yards and fairs and discovering new places.”

  1. Small House Under a Big Sky December 3, 2013 at 9:46 pm #

    Oh my what some of us would’ have given for that soil and those plants overgrown or not….sigh. Berms, soil over sand, etc. What will you do now in this spot?

    • bridget December 3, 2013 at 10:14 pm #

      Still needs a bit of tidying up but I’m sure as time goes on it will be home to lots of big pots with plants in.

  2. cindyricksgers December 3, 2013 at 9:58 pm #

    What a nice new space in your yard! I’ll look forward to seeing what you do with it. And I agree, what a nice find that extended walk by the river is. I’d love the recipe for either of those sweet treats!

    • bridget December 3, 2013 at 10:15 pm #

      Will do a post with a recipe later in week Cindy.

  3. John Willmott December 3, 2013 at 10:38 pm #

    Yes, I love that little park by the river in Boyle, stroll it several times. What I keep promising myself, not done yet, is stroll further down that shore to the Patrick’s Well. You go out of the park where the houses are, pass some of the houses, then down an alley-way and back along by the river path again.

    • bridget December 3, 2013 at 10:42 pm #

      Must check that out. Can’t believe I did’nt know of this place. Better late than never!

  4. Anne Wilson December 3, 2013 at 11:51 pm #

    Lovely day on Sunday, I’m glad the heart vase sold!!! The face looks Chinese to me but Simon says it’s a lion.Will bring some artichokes on Thursday for you.

    • bridget December 4, 2013 at 9:16 am #

      Can’t see a lion myself but maybe it’s a kind of magic tree where we all see something different. Would love some Artichokes!

  5. Jane December 4, 2013 at 1:56 am #

    Love the tea lights! The face in the tree is Fu Man Chu…I’m sure!
    We had a digger here when we had a well drilled..it looked like the Somme and I cried buckets.
    Jane x

    • bridget December 4, 2013 at 9:17 am #

      We were lucky that the digger work was done during dry weather. Fu Man Chu…what’s he doing in Ireland I wonder!

  6. The Earth Beneath My Feet December 4, 2013 at 8:31 am #

    Oh yummy, those caramel slices made my mouth water. And water …….

    • bridget December 4, 2013 at 9:19 am #

      They are yummy but very calorie laden. I only use butter in my baking…

    • june December 5, 2013 at 6:18 pm #

      They are yummy…and then some! Bridget is a wonderful baker.

  7. joanfrankham December 4, 2013 at 11:19 am #

    lovely photos, you can see lots of things in that beech tree, maybe rabbits hiding there also?

    • bridget December 4, 2013 at 9:40 pm #

      Ooh! I’ll have to scrutinise it again now. Looking for rabbits…

  8. june December 4, 2013 at 8:45 pm #

    Look at all that wonderful extra ‘new’ space you now have! Brilliant! You’ve such a beautiful home and garden, both inside and out.

    It was lovely seeing you and Andy, and also you two Anne and Simon, on Sunday in Manorhamilton (and thank you so much, Anne, for the pendant you bought from our stall – that one, as well as the one known as ‘Moonflower’ (the woman staring at the full moon in an open window, whose braided hair looks like stained glass) are my two favourites – I love that ‘stained glass’ effect that is in a few of the pendants. Again, thank you so much!)

    The Manorhamilton Christmas fair was one of the very best Christmas fairs I’ve ever sold at, – such a wonderful, friendly, genuine community spirited fair. I’m already looking forward to next year’s. I’m also going to do the one at Rossinver next year, too, as you and Reiner have told me it’s such a lovely fair as well.

    I’m delighted that Andy and you both did so well with his lovely glass heart and the beautiful tea lights. I’m not at all surprised that you sold out of them…it’s so encouraging when that happens…makes you want to make more and more of them. And ohhhh….those gorgeous Melting Moments of yours, Bridget! They are absolutely delicious, not to mention addicting 🙂

    Isn’t it a lovely feeling to discover a new place? Especially when it’s near to where you live but never knew about it and stumbled upon it…like a hidden treasure. I must get over to Boyle again one of these days…maybe we can meet up on the day you’re volunteering at the charity shop and have lunch then.

    • bridget December 4, 2013 at 9:39 pm #

      That would be lovely June…maybe even a picnic in my new fave spot! Glad you and Thomas enjoyed the fair and sold well too. It really is one of the best fairs. Well organised and advertised and supported by the local community. I going to post the recipe for Melting Moments in a day or two.

  9. thegardendeli December 4, 2013 at 10:11 pm #

    Your ‘remodelled’ front yard looks good – lots of space there now. And if you ever decide to start selling mail order, can you put me down for a night light and a box of caramel slices please!

    • John Willmott December 4, 2013 at 10:17 pm #

      Mail order online, now that would be a thing. Offer a free caramel slice with every orders and Flynn’s Cottage would be bigger than Amazon almost overnight !!!

    • bridget December 5, 2013 at 6:08 pm #

      I’ll keep that in mind if we ever decide to do mail order…you never know. Not sure how the Caramel Slices would arrive though…

      • june December 5, 2013 at 6:17 pm #

        You’re definitely onto something there – complimentary caramel slices with every tea light purchase via mail order. I’m sure there must be a way to go about it, even if it’s a foodie item. As someone who has sampled both the deliriously delicious caramel slices and the absolutely, stunningly gorgeous Melting Moments, they would do very, very well – just look at how well they both sell at all the craft fairs and farmers’ markets you’ve sold them at. Flynn’s Cottage Crafts and Baking Delights!

  10. madcrowherbals December 6, 2013 at 6:29 pm #

    The caramel slices look amazing! and I love the glass heart.

    Michael

    • bridget December 6, 2013 at 7:28 pm #

      The are pretty good…if I say so myself. I love that heart design too.

  11. wellywoman December 6, 2013 at 7:56 pm #

    Wow! That’s quite an area. So have you got big plans for it? Some delicious looking tasty treats there. Off to my local farmers’ market tomorrow so there’ll hopefully be something there for us. Have a lovely weekend.

  12. KL December 6, 2013 at 11:50 pm #

    Such lovely handicraft work and only 5 euros!!! They are so cheap…nothing so cheap handicraft can be found in the US; they will be at least 20/30 dollar or more here. Please post your recipe for fudge slide. They look so delicious.

    • bridget December 7, 2013 at 12:28 am #

      They would never sell here at that price. We pick up glass cheap in the second hand shops so our costs are very low and we’re not greedy. Will post caramel slice recipe soon.

  13. Mominthegarden December 18, 2013 at 12:50 pm #

    How lovely for you to have found a new place to stroll Bridget! The glassware is so pretty, too. Sounds like life is very good! Dana

Leave a Reply

