Pics from the Botanic Gardens in Dublin.

20 Oct

Botanic Gardens 008

 

Wednesday was my friend Charlie’s birthday. We headed up to Dublin on the train to visit the Botanic Gardens.  A wet morning greeted us but as the day went on it cleared up to quite a nice day.

Great pumpkin display as one heads out to the gardens.

Botanic Gardens 011

 

Aren’t these great? Metal flowers on a wall. Part of the Sculpture in Context exhibition.  The exhibition made the gardens even more interesting as the art pieces were placed throughout the grounds.

Botanic Gardens 012

 

Bronze ladies amongst the trees.

Botanic Gardens 013

 

Not sure about this one. It’s called “They’ll be back.”

Botanic Gardens 014

 

Air plant in one of the glass houses. Can’t remember the name but by it’s shape it’s got to be call Stag’s Horn…

Botanic Gardens 015

 

Another air plant.

Botanic Gardens 021

 

Beautiful Bouganvillae.

Botanic Gardens 024

 

Wonderful Palm.

Botanic Gardens 026

 

Couldn’t find a name tag on this wonderfully sculptural specimen.

Botanic Gardens 032

 

The Cactus house.

Botanic Gardens 034

 

Such variety…there’s an amazing amount of Cacti.

Botanic Gardens 037

 

I thought this was a sculpture as it looks like bronze. It is however a real live plant.

Botanic Gardens 040

 

These Tree Snails were amazing…made from fused plastic.

Botanic Gardens 042

 

Did someone polish the bark on this Yew? Beautiful!

Botanic Gardens 046

 

Waterfall.

Botanic Gardens 049

 

The DNA sculpture. This is a permanent fixture here.

Botanic Gardens 057

 

Chicken wire Snowdrops.

Botanic Gardens 058

 

Redbor Kale in the kitchen garden.

Botanic Gardens 060

 

Loved this piece…blown glass bubbles attached to this gnarled old tree.  Very clever!

Botanic Gardens 068

 

Another fave…a wonderful oversized cedar chair. It even smelt nice.

Botanic Gardens 072

 

Part of a wonderful bronze sculpture.

Botanic Gardens 075

 

There is so much more but I will finish with these beautiful vibrant flowers.

28 Responses to “Pics from the Botanic Gardens in Dublin.”

  1. June October 20, 2013 at 10:24 am #

    Beautiful, Bridget. Truly beautiful. I’ve got to get to the Botanic Gardens one of these days. I know…shame on me, as I’ve never visited there. These are wonderful photos.

    • bridget October 20, 2013 at 12:22 pm #

      Thanks June! It was my first time there. I shall return.

  2. cathsveggies1 October 20, 2013 at 10:55 am #

    Beautiful pictures of beautiful gardens.

    • bridget October 20, 2013 at 12:24 pm #

      Beautiful indeed! I’ll have to visit again next Summer. There would be lots of different things to see then.

  3. Ena Ronayne October 20, 2013 at 11:21 am #

    Lovely images Bridget. The stags horn fern Platycerium species is an amazing plant and some of those seen by you at the ‘Bots’ are years old. I remember them well from my training days there. The architectural plant with the large leaves you saw in the ‘Curvilinear Range’ is Bird of Paradise botanically known as Strelitzia reginae. Thanks for sharing such delights 🙂

    • bridget October 20, 2013 at 12:25 pm #

      Thanks Ena…would be amazing to see that Bird of Paradise in flower. I’m not very good on botanical names.

    • HelenB October 20, 2013 at 9:33 pm #

      I really think that the architectural plant with the large leaves is actually Strelitzia nicoiai, the Giant Bird of Paradise, also sometimes called the White Bird of Paradise, Both of these grow well and are common where I live (Southern California)

      • bridget October 20, 2013 at 9:48 pm #

        Thanks for that Helen! Must be amazing to see these growing in the open. Must be so beautiful to see in flower.

      • Diana Studer October 23, 2013 at 10:36 pm #

        yes nicolai, which grows hugely TALL.
        regina is more hip-high.

  4. Jane October 20, 2013 at 12:36 pm #

    That’s my kind of day out!
    The “They’ll be back’ made me laugh…the spades are so shiny it looks as though ‘they’ never even started!
    Jane x

    • bridget October 20, 2013 at 3:33 pm #

      The spades and hats were actually ceramic. Not my fave piece…

  5. Anne Wilson October 20, 2013 at 11:31 pm #

    Lovely pictures it looks a lovely place to visit, I especially love the pictures of the yew tree and the cedar chair, another place to add to our must visit list.

    • bridget October 21, 2013 at 9:02 am #

      It’s certainly worth a trip. The cafe is pretty good too…an essential on any day out.

  6. cindyricksgers October 21, 2013 at 1:38 am #

    Wonderful photos! Thank you!

  7. thegardendeli October 21, 2013 at 9:45 am #

    Looks like a great day out. Your photos are a lovely tour of the gardens, and it’s interesting to see how sculptural some plants can be

  8. The Earth Beneath My Feet October 21, 2013 at 12:43 pm #

    Love the topless bronze sculpture!

    • bridget October 21, 2013 at 6:08 pm #

      Is’nt it great! I think it was my fave. It’s now my profile pic on FB!

  9. Mominthegarden October 21, 2013 at 1:21 pm #

    Thanks for sharing these pictures of such wonderful art & plants Bridget! I’ve only been to the Botanic gardens a couple of times, and both were in early summer. It is such a treat! The pumpkin display is my favorite!! Dana

    • bridget October 21, 2013 at 6:07 pm #

      I want to go there in the Summer.

  10. silverbells2012 October 21, 2013 at 6:55 pm #

    I would love to visit these gardens. Unfortunately, I hadn’t discovered my love of gardens when I visited Dublin in 2000.

    • bridget October 22, 2013 at 10:10 am #

      You’ll have to do a return visit sometime. Several good gardens in and around Dublin.

  11. Pam's English Garden October 22, 2013 at 12:35 am #

    I missed the Botanical Gardens when I visited Dublin. Loved your tour. Next time …

    • bridget October 22, 2013 at 10:11 am #

      It’s hard to do everything when you visit a place, so much to see in Dublin. As you say…next time…

  12. wellywoman October 22, 2013 at 10:13 am #

    Lovely gardens. I’m a big fan of botanic gardens and what they offer, particularly at a time of year when other garden visiting options are thin on the ground. We were in Dublin about 10 years ago but didn’t get to the botanic gardens. Hopefully we’ll get to visit in the future.

  13. aj vosse November 3, 2013 at 6:08 pm #

    Definitely on my list now… thanks for showing me what’s on the doorstep…

Leave a Reply

