I need a macro lens…

8 Aug

003

 

Lots of Butterflies about yesterday. This is only about the 4th Peacock I’ve seen though. Lots of Butterflies and Bumble Bees loving the Hemp Argimony at the moment. Soon these beauties will be seeking places to hibernate for the Winter. I really must get a camera with a macro lens…I must…I must. Oh well…Christmas is coming!

10 Responses to “I need a macro lens…”

  1. cohutt August 8, 2013 at 10:52 am #

    For insects I’ve found that a zoom of at least 200mm or so and a tripod to steady things work better than my more expensive macro lens. 1- have to get too close for a really good shot with the macro & bugs in general do not cooperate. 2- the macro’s depth of field is very narrow in comparison and large insects like butterflies are too 3 dimensional. ūüė¶ A zoom compensates for both.
    But I am still learning and a more experienced backyard photographer might have better advice. good luck

    • bridget August 8, 2013 at 11:44 am #

      Ok…so it’s a camera with a good zoom I need then. Will remember that. thanks for the advice.

  2. Shawndra Miller August 8, 2013 at 11:32 am #

    That looks like a stunner of a butterfly in any case!

  3. cathsveggies1 August 8, 2013 at 1:39 pm #

    That is a spectacular butterfly,don’t think I have seen one like that, but have seen more “normal” ones around lately. There are hundreds of the white cabbage variety though ūüė¶
    I too find that the zoom is better than macro, not that my camera is anything to write home about…lol

  4. evolution August 8, 2013 at 2:35 pm #

    That is a gorgeous butterfly!

  5. Anne Wilson August 9, 2013 at 12:15 am #

    I use macro for close up stuff, if you cant get too close then you need a good zoom, I haven’t tried out the new camera yet but am longing to, I so often miss shots because I’m too far away. We had a fair few Peacocks around but far more Tortoiseshells, lots of gate keepers, meadow browns,I saw my first Fritillary a couple of weeks ago and we have even had Cinnabar moths this year, I’m glad we left a couple of ragworts for the caterpillar’s to feed on.

    • bridget August 9, 2013 at 9:05 am #

      As I was about to pull the Ragworths I noticed the stripy larvae on there so I left them. Great how they totally strip the plant. Gonna buy a new camera soon so I have to get up to date with the pros of cons of macro and zoom.

  6. David Marsden August 9, 2013 at 5:49 pm #

    The number of butterflies this year has been very gratifying. I got an excellent macro lens on Ebay Рsaved about £200 on the full price (if that helps). Dave

    • bridget August 10, 2013 at 7:26 am #

      Thanks Dave, will check out ebay.

  7. madcrowherbals August 10, 2013 at 3:37 pm #

    After struggling with my cell phone camera, I often dream of getting a good camera with proper lenses to capture such things myself.

    Michael

Leave a Reply

