Food miles and Foodie Penpals.

1 Jun

003

 

It’s Foodie Penpal time again.  On this occasion my parcel came from Allison Jackson who lives in Surrey.  It’s always nice to get something thats not a bill in the post but a parcel is something special. It was all wrapped up very nicely and protected with bubble wrap.

005

 

Inside were some little chocolate bars,  a tube of Swiss chocolate mints, a bag of liquorice, dried porcini mushrooms, tempura batter mix, Ras el Hanout a spicy herb mix, a packet of fruit rolls and some cup cases.  What a lovely mixture of items.

012

 

The liquorice was first to go…I just love liquorice. I did share it with Andy though. The fruit rolls disappeared pretty quickly too!

015

 

I also love chocolate…most women do…actually Andy doesn’t  shy away from it either. I especially love a little sweet treat after dinner in the evening. These chocolate mints and bars fitted the bill very nicely. The dried porcini mushrooms I hadn’t tried before but during the week I added them to a risotto. Really delicious! Risottos are one of my fave meals.

Allison included a very nice letter with the parcel telling me a bit about each item and also a recipe for oat crackers. She also brought up the topic of food miles. As most of the things one can send through the post are prepackaged it really is hard to buy locally produced items to send. Chocolate, even though it may be made in England, contains cocoa beans from South America. The dried mushrooms were from China as were the baking cases. Now China is a big problem for me. Its very hard not to buy stuff from there as they produce everything in that country it seems. The big problem for me is the Chinese treatment of animals and of their people too. Not to speak of the environmental issues. I do deliberately try… not always succeeding… not to buy from China.

The liquorice was from Australia. Think of the air miles getting that to England. I hope you don’t think I’m being over critical of Alisson’s parcel but Allison herself raised this issue so I know she doesn’t mind. She also recommended “How bad are Bananas, the Carbon Footprint of everything.” for some light reading! Haven’t read it yet but I will do. It’s been a very sunny week in Ireland so reading etc has been minimal. It’s been outdoors working in the garden from morning till evening.  So what with the sun, the garden and food parcels arriving at my door it’s been a great week allround.

16 Responses to “Food miles and Foodie Penpals.”

  1. Rambling Woods June 1, 2013 at 4:04 pm #

    Oh was a lovely idea… thought provoking post too….. Michelle

  2. crabandfish June 2, 2013 at 8:17 am #

    A fantastic idea. We are also conscious of good miles but it ican be challenging . Where can I read more about Foodie pen pals ?
    Flavia

  3. cindyricksgers June 2, 2013 at 11:18 am #

    Great points about food travels…so nice to get a parcel like that, though!

  4. Donna@Gardens Eye View June 2, 2013 at 12:28 pm #

    That licorice would be gone in a flash with me and no sharing 🙂

  5. June June 2, 2013 at 12:48 pm #

    This is such a brilliant and fun idea, Bridget. I love everything about it. I’m definitely going to check it out. See you this weekend in Carrick!

  6. KL June 3, 2013 at 1:58 am #

    Food mile or any mile is a big issue, but it’s so difficulty to avoid. Only for couple of months during summer we in NJ perhaps can be on zero mile; but after that, no chance :-(. I absolutely avoid buying anything from China, especially food items. You already know this but please careful about eating any food item from China — huge chemicals and pollutants; that’s they cancer has skyrocketed in China :-(…

    • bridget June 3, 2013 at 8:52 am #

      We always avoid foods from China because of the human and animal rights issues but as you say the pollution is a big issue too. Don’t really know what’s in the produce so best avoid it altogether.

  7. chocveg June 5, 2013 at 11:06 pm #

    Hi Bridget, thanks for posting about my parcel. Food miles are a serious issue, and especially when I started out to try to buy local and then that though just disappeared from my mind with all the packaged items! It is easy to check where your apples come from or strawberries, or asparagus, but not so easy to see where small packets of everyday items come from. Glad you enjoyed the contents, and thanks for the interesting things in your blog! Allison

    • bridget June 6, 2013 at 2:23 pm #

      Thanks Allison. It really was a lovely parcel to receive. Still have’nt tried the tempura batter but one of these days I will. Always nice to get some choccy goodies…they did’nt last long. As to the liquorice…gone in a flash.

  8. medea yorba June 21, 2013 at 12:40 am #

    Hi how do I become a part of this sending each other parcels of goodies. It sounds like so much fun. I have a nephew who would absolutely adore this too. We always tease that he will one day be one of those guys on tv who travels and tries different foods. Please let me know.. I googled you after our grocery store clerk had told me about it.
    Medea

    • bridget June 21, 2013 at 6:48 am #

      You can find out about Foodie Penpals on http://www.theleangreenbean.com .

      • medea yorba June 21, 2013 at 5:12 pm #

        Thank you so much for the info. I will pass this on to my brother also for my nephew. We are excited. This will be so much fun!!!

        Meea

  9. Evette Garside July 7, 2013 at 7:13 pm #

    Just signed up so next month I will receive and send one . Not a clue what I will put in it

    • bridget July 8, 2013 at 10:14 am #

      I always email the person to find out their likes and dislikes, that gives you some ideas.

Leave a Reply

