Climate change, unpacking boxes and favourite books.

9 May

001

The weather is back to rain again so garden days are at a standstill for a little while. Really heavy rain last night…monsoon like…lots of flooding today. Apart from more rain in the last few years I also notice that the rain has changed…much heavier monsoon like sheeting rain. I suppose that’s climate change. There’s no denying it’s existence even here in Ireland.

Anyway the rainy days give us a chance to work indoors on the cottage renovations. The sitting room is finished now so with great joy we start unpacking things not seen since last September. The thing I missed the most in that time was books. I know everything can be looked up on Google now but for me nothing beats picking up a book.

005

As each box is opened one is reacquinted with old friends. Alice in Wonderland my favourite book from childhood….

002

an old herbal book given to me by a lady long left this world and from my school days a poetry book.

003

Time to stop and read once more my favourite poem…ever. The Road Not Taken by the American poet Robert Frost.

012

Herbal reference books and of course gardening books…all at my fintertips once again. These will be much used over the Summer as the garden work continues and herbal potions are made from hedgerow plants along the lane.

014

Soon the shelves fill up with treasures collected over the years. Andy still has many of his childhood books…they are here too…. on the top shelf. Of course every new house needs some new things…one of the new things is the mandala on the top shelf. I just love it…it’s from my friend June over at www.celticmooncraft.blogspot.com . The triskele is a favourite emblem of mine…

015

as is the trinity knot. This is on a piece of stained glass set into the sitting room door. The door was made by our friend Alan and the glass was made by a guy called Matt Black who used to have a shop in Drumshanbo. I really love to have things made by local people.  I picked up the porcelian handle in a charity shop for 2 euros. You can’t see it very well in this pic but it has an exotic bird on it.

011

Yippee! The books are back…onto the next room…or…if the weather picks up again…some more garden work. I wonder what tomorrow will bring?

25 Responses to “Climate change, unpacking boxes and favourite books.”

  1. cathsveggies1 May 9, 2013 at 9:57 pm #

    I am so glad you are settling in nicely.And if this awful weather doesn’t allow you time in your garden,at least you have the cottage. Your books are fabulous and I see you have one about The Blaskets….A beautiful,magical Island, the last time I was there we did the ring walk,right to the back of the Island! I slightly recognise the school poetry book,must have been my older brother’s. All your books are lovely and I too passed on the gift of reading to my children. I absolutely love your stained-glass insert. Hoping you do get outside for a bit this weekend. Cheers,Catherine.

    • bridget May 9, 2013 at 11:00 pm #

      Yes, it is nice to get the indoor work done but really my heart is in the garden.

      • cathsveggies1 May 10, 2013 at 7:17 pm #

        I sympathize and agree, Bridget. If I can’t get outside I nearly go mad…:)

  2. cindyricksgers May 9, 2013 at 10:31 pm #

    I love this post! I love having my books all at hand. When I moved twice a year for college, books were the main thing that I hauled back and forth. I get stressed when I can’t get to them.
    I’ve been a bit frantic with Spring stuff lately, and haven’t given your last two -very important – posts the time and thought they deserve, so have not yet responded, but thank you for being aware, and for putting the word out. This is terrifying, and it seems not enough folks realize it. Thanks, Bridget!

    • bridget May 9, 2013 at 10:59 pm #

      Some of my books even came to England with me when I lived there for 5 years.

  3. Anne Wilson May 9, 2013 at 11:57 pm #

    Books, what can you say, they make a home and say so much about you. They are always the first thing I have to get unpacked when we move, a lot of my books started off in Ireland went to Spain when we lived there and are now back where they started from.

  4. KL May 10, 2013 at 2:34 am #

    that poem by robert frost is also one of my favorite; and, you are right, nothing beats picking up a book and reading it. I don’t know how people enjoy all these kindles and other e-books. Just to hold a book, look into its cover, smell it, feel it, read all those not-so-important information about isbn and when it was first printed and all those tiny information — that’s the joy and which are not there in any e-book.

    • june May 10, 2013 at 4:09 pm #

      Absolutely, KL. Books bring their own special kind of joy that no e-book or Kindle book (or whatever they’re called – I’ve no clue and I’m glad of that fact) can possibly offer.

      Just saw an incredible film that I’d not seen in years – Truffaut’s adaptation of the Ray Bradbury classic, ‘Fahrenheit 451’. If you love books, and love reading and have a penchant for futuristic-but-very-close-to-reality sci-fi, this film is a must. Terrifying and shocking, yet at the same time, a very important message to accompany it.

      Long live books!

      • bridget May 10, 2013 at 6:59 pm #

        Well said June! Long life to books!

      • bridget May 10, 2013 at 7:04 pm #

        Must look out for that one June.

  5. Charlie@Seattle Trekker May 10, 2013 at 3:03 am #

    Books are home for me, they are a hug from a best friend. Growing up there were aunts and uncles who worked all day at hard jobs and in the evening they read for pleasure, they did it to go to go places that they couldn’t afford to see. During their lives they stopped getting books from the library and they bought books. It was how they judged their success, being able to own a book. They had piles in every room; especially by the favorite overstuffed chair and next to the couch. When I am missing a long gone relative I go to the shelves and pull down a few of those books and I pile them by my favorite chair.

    • bridget May 10, 2013 at 7:40 am #

      Beautiful! Yes…books hold a lot of memories. Passed on from one generation to the next. A wonderful inheritance.

  6. June May 10, 2013 at 9:54 am #

    Ahhhh….books! Wonderful, glorious, welcoming, inviting books. I was the exact same way when we moved – even though I was happy to get the rest of the house in order (an on-going process to this day, lol), I was happiest when I opened those boxes containing my ‘friends’ from years and years ago…all those wonderful memories as I unpacked and then found a new place on our shelves for each one. Yes, as Charlie expressed so perfectly, books are home for me, too. Probably for most of us, I’m sure.

    You’ve got a wonderful collection of ‘friends,’ too. ‘Alice in Wonderland’ – wow! For me, it’s ‘The Little Prince.’ I’m chuffed, too, that the mandala sits in and amongst them on the top shelf. I’m so glad you like it, and that it brings you joy in your beautiful new home (which one of these days, we hope to get out there to visit you and Andy).

    Thanks for sharing these photos and these wonderful memories with us, Bridget.

  7. Caro May 10, 2013 at 7:38 pm #

    Hi Bridget! Silly me, I just realised that I didn’t update the link when you changed over to your new blog! I totally understand why you’re thrilled about getting your books back in place – I love my books; once I get one out to thumb through, they tend to start stacking up all over the flat. So much good information! (I also have treasured books from my childhood; they bring back so many good memories.) 🙂 Caro x

    • bridget May 11, 2013 at 9:10 am #

      Welcome to our new place Caro. I’ve been neglecting blogs a little myself as we are busy, busy, in the new place. It is just sooo good to have the books back again.

  8. linniew May 10, 2013 at 8:20 pm #

    What is more fun than settling all your favorite stuff into a new home! Alice is one of my favorite reference books. (It’s not fiction right?) Soon you and your garden will get well-acquainted. (“We CAN talk”, said the Tiger-lily, “when there’s anybody worth talking to.”)

  9. Dee Sewell May 11, 2013 at 7:44 am #

    Yes, I can so get this post! The majority of my books were in boxes for nearly 10 years after our move and renovations, you really captured the joy and emotion of unpacking them 🙂

  10. magnumlady May 11, 2013 at 7:45 pm #

    The weather is shocking. I love your book shelves, I love June’s work too, she’s very talented.

    • bridget May 11, 2013 at 8:08 pm #

      Hi Val, Heard you were at Boyle market today. Just missed you…and yes, June is very talented…love her stuff.

  11. crabandfish May 12, 2013 at 12:03 pm #

    Such wonderful old books – you’re like me, my home and life are not complete until my bookcase is complete,
    Cheers,
    Flavia

    • bridget May 13, 2013 at 8:04 pm #

      Books make the home complete.

  12. SmallHouseBigGarden May 13, 2013 at 12:56 pm #

    I feel sorry for generations to come…they may never know the wonders of holding history in the form of a thick and yellowing books. One of my favorite things about settling into new apts/houses is getting my books out of boxes. Seeing each one is like greeting an old friend.
    🙂
    I’m really enjoying catching up on your blog!

    • bridget May 13, 2013 at 8:02 pm #

      Does’nt really feel like home until you get the books in situ does it!

  13. wellywoman May 16, 2013 at 8:15 am #

    It’s nice when somewhere starts to fell properly like home. We moved so much that we had to have as much unpacked and it feeling like home as soon as possible otherwise we might as well have left everything in boxes for the next move. 😉 It’s nice if you can take your time and get somewhere feeling how you want it. I’m with you on the rain. We never seem to get drizzle any more, just deluges.

    • bridget May 16, 2013 at 3:57 pm #

      Certainly the soft Irish rain seems to be gone, it has been replaced with torrential downpours. That’s climate change for ya!

Leave a Reply

