Just a pic for Sunday.

28 Apr

Bulgaria May 2012 027

14 Responses to “Just a pic for Sunday.”

  1. Lucy Corrander April 28, 2013 at 12:09 pm #

    But not ‘just’ a place.

    • bridget April 28, 2013 at 7:54 pm #

      A place where, as I walked up the hill, I saw a beautiful Imperial Eagle rise up from behind the castle.

  2. silverbells2012 April 28, 2013 at 6:16 pm #

    Where is this?

    • bridget April 28, 2013 at 6:57 pm #

      It’s in southern Bulgaria, near the Turkish border, just outside the village of Matachino. I was there in May of last year.

  3. The Earth Beneath My Feet April 28, 2013 at 7:20 pm #

    Gorgeous pic – it immediately reminded me of the Crusades. I’m a sucker for old castles.

    • bridget April 28, 2013 at 7:52 pm #

      I love them too. Always try and picture the scene when these places were inhabited and full of life.

      • The Earth Beneath My Feet April 28, 2013 at 8:01 pm #

        Absolutely. I loved Sarem and Salisbury when I visited the south of England a few years back.

  4. Charlie@Seattle Trekker April 29, 2013 at 4:23 am #

    A home on the hill; it must have been amazing when it was bustling with activity and life.

    • bridget April 29, 2013 at 9:08 am #

      Thanks always how I imagine it when I look upon these old places.

  5. KL April 30, 2013 at 1:39 am #

    Such a nice old place with rich history. Any idea how old is this?

    • bridget April 30, 2013 at 7:13 am #

      Apparentl it’s a Medieval hill fortress.

  6. SmallHouseBigGarden May 13, 2013 at 1:00 pm #

    A medieval hill fortress! Fascinating.
    I’ve probably said this before but I’m always surprised every time I see old castles in pics throughout Europe. That’s one thing you’ll NEVER see in the states. I’m a big history nut and love thinking about who lived and worked in those aging structures.

    • bridget May 13, 2013 at 8:01 pm #

      That’s exactly how I feel when I look at them. I wonder who lived here what went on etc.

Leave a Reply

