SOS….Save our Seeds.

26 Apr

231

Last night as I was perusing through Facebook, as one does, I came across a post on pending EU legislation that would make it illegal for seed to be sold that wasn’t  on an approved list. It would also be illegal to grow or swap seeds not on the list. Not always believing what I read on Facebook I did a bit of frantic follow up research and sadly I have to report that it’s true.

019

“EU is preparing legislation that will make it illegal to grow crops that are not on a list of approved seeds. A list that currently is 60% dominated by big corporations like Monsanto, AsrtraZenecar and others. The pros list are basically only hybrids, which means you can not take next year’s seed from this crop. Furthermore, it will not only be forbidden to sell other seeds than those already mentioned but also to grow, “File sharing” in the area of seeds will become a criminal act.” (Section of the Avaaz petition against this legislation).

Please sign the petition. This is a devestating piece of legislation for anyone who cares about food sovereignity, growing or having access to non GM food. For have no doubt, that’s what this is about, the domination of corporations over our food choices. http://www.avaaz.org/en/petition/We_dont_accept_this_Let_us_keep_our_seeds_EU/?tTLFjbb

If this is passed it will make criminals of all who wish to grow home saved seeds. It will be a criminal act to swap saved seeds with your friends and neighbours.

Please sign the petition. Write to the European Commisioners. This legislation goes before the Commissioners on May 6th. Not much time!!

36 Responses to “SOS….Save our Seeds.”

  1. KL April 26, 2013 at 10:59 am #

    This is a horrible news. What’s happening at the EU? I thought countries in the Europe, at least the Western Europe were much ahead in all these. But this news and news that Ireland is trying to sell its forests…these are sad stories against humanity. I have signed the petition; I have also put it up in my facebook so that others can read it, sign and pass it along. I hope the bill will not pass. And companies like Monsanto and Bayer will go to hell one day…

  2. silverbells2012 April 26, 2013 at 12:00 pm #

    Reblogged this on silverbells steps out and commented:
    This blog post is too important to ignore!

    • bridget April 26, 2013 at 12:06 pm #

      Thanks! We need to spread this far and wide.

    • silverbells2012 April 26, 2013 at 12:10 pm #

      I’ve also posted this on Facebook. Fingers crossed the powers that be listen to our voice!

  3. Jane April 26, 2013 at 12:10 pm #

    Big Brother IS watching! Greed , greed and more greed…it’s all about money and it STINKS!
    Jane x

    • bridget April 26, 2013 at 3:24 pm #

      That’s bout the size of it Jane.

  4. cathsveggies1 April 26, 2013 at 12:39 pm #

    What the……?? So we are all going to be criminals?!

    • bridget April 26, 2013 at 3:23 pm #

      If this gets passed that will be the case so get in touch with the EU commissioners. Ireland’s Commissioner is Maura Geoghan Quinn.

      • cathsveggies1 April 26, 2013 at 6:34 pm #

        Right,thanks. Will figure a way to contact her!

  5. cmmarcum April 26, 2013 at 12:42 pm #

    What? That’s ridiculous. They can’t enforce that law. But if they try, I’ve always wanted to be a member of the underground, the blackmarket. We could stand on the corner and sell H’loom seeds.

    Nope, the only thing that law will do is drive-up the price of heirloom seeds. And maybe that’s the real objective.

    • bridget April 26, 2013 at 3:22 pm #

      I think the real agenda is for Monsanto and their cronies to control the world’s food supply.

  6. JD April 26, 2013 at 2:56 pm #

    Yes – it’s very much a ‘1984’ and ‘Big Brother’ scenario, shockingly. I will sign the petition, of course, and get as many people aware and get them to sign, as well. First Big Pharma, now Big Food. it’s all about greed, money, power, control and corporatocracy.

  7. Anne Wilson April 26, 2013 at 3:11 pm #

    I had posted about this yesterday, unfortunately there seems to be two separate petitions against this on Avaaz, I wonder if both of the petitions will count? We must encourage everyone we come into contact with to seed save and seed share we cant comply with this, it’s our food and we should have the choice of what we grow and eat. Clearly the EU has sold out to big agro. I am sooo angry! Who the hell do they think they are?

    • bridget April 26, 2013 at 3:26 pm #

      I’m raging too. I only heard of this yesterday through FB. Looking at the petition, it was started on 18th March so that to me is the longest running one and the one to sign. nothing wrong with signing 2 though.

  8. inkspeare April 26, 2013 at 6:27 pm #

    OMG, I am shocked, this is like something from a fiction novel, and this is truly happening, I will share this post on my FB page right now.

    • bridget April 26, 2013 at 10:42 pm #

      It’s an attempt to control the food supply of the whole planet. Worryng!

      • cathsveggies1 April 26, 2013 at 11:08 pm #

        Well, I am not going to stop planting my own….!

  9. sweffling April 27, 2013 at 10:01 am #

    I cannot imagine how it could be thought illegal to swap seeds. Have been and signed and shared the petition. This is just absurd and i would gladly break the law and go to jail over this one. I am fed up with the big boys trying to persuade legislators to make laws that infringe on our rights so that data in the public domain becomes privatised.

  10. elaine April 28, 2013 at 7:37 pm #

    I don’t see how they can enforce this with home growers – it is just getting a bit ridiculous – talk about the nanny state. Why can’t they leave well alone.

    • bridget April 28, 2013 at 7:53 pm #

      Why indeed! I think it’s all to do with greed, power and money.

  11. Agatha April 30, 2013 at 12:58 pm #

    Hi! I was interested in finding out the source legislation, to see exactly what the bill says. Did you happen across any information like that while you were researching? I found the seed sovereignty website, but I’ve never heard of them before, and they didn’t seem to have links to the proposed legislation. 😦 It’s always easier to get the word out when you have the full story! 🙂

  12. willowarchway May 1, 2013 at 6:05 pm #

    They will NOT, NOT, NOT stop me from collecting my own seeds !!! Thanks for bringing this to our attention, just off to sign the petition.

    • bridget May 2, 2013 at 10:42 pm #

      It will NOT stop me either. Keep up the good fight. x

      • cathsveggies1 May 2, 2013 at 11:22 pm #

        I have just posted this on a USA Garden site that I am on..Let them come for me, have my hose ready. Not a hope they getting me !

  13. briony mee May 2, 2013 at 8:02 am #

    I have signed this already. I think there will be a lot of criminals around I for one one will not be told what to do. Not anymore.

    • bridget May 2, 2013 at 10:42 pm #

      I’m with you Briony!

      • cathsveggies1 May 2, 2013 at 11:26 pm #

        Me too…bring it on…do not under estimate an Irish woman…!

  14. cohutt May 5, 2013 at 10:14 pm #

    Reblogged this on Behind cohutt's fence and commented:
    Wow. And I thought the EU was only clueless about economics.
    There are so many reasons why this is criminally stupid that I had to re-blog it. Don’t think we are shielded from such asshattedness here in the U.S.; we already have the FDA sending SWAT teams into small Amish farms for producing raw milk for consumption (google FDA SWAT TEAM if you don’t believe me).
    We humanoids cannot control such complex systems and what influence we are capable of exerting has a way of coming back to bite us hard. This isn’t petty meddling like regulating whether I can have a chicken in my yard in Rome, GA; it is arrogantly corrupt and dangerous. Fight it when Congress tries it here then ignore it when they pass it anyway. 😦

    • bridget May 6, 2013 at 9:41 am #

      I beleive you all right. I’ve been reading about the raw milk raids and also not being allowed to collect rain water. Sadly what happens in US usually comes to UK and Ireland 10-15 years later. Corporations have a strong foothold in America now so are working hard, and apparently succeeding, to dominate the rest of the world. We must spread information and try and wake people from their slumber of ignorance.

  15. Tammy Travis May 16, 2013 at 7:04 pm #

    I am so glad I found this post. I wasnt aware all this was going on. I am a seed saver and prefer to buy heirloom seeds for that reason. Not to mention all this GMO stuff. And I am expanding my gardens and increasing production thru the Mittleider method. I plan to do a lot of canning. The govt is allowing too much garbage in our food supply.Great article!

  16. Linne July 15, 2013 at 2:46 am #

    Reblogged this on A Random Harvest and commented:
    We may have missed the petition, but I’m re-blogging anyway; the whole world needs to know what’s going on and what we have to look forward to . . . I haven’t heard what the outcome was, if any. But I did tweet out Prime Minister, advising him that if they are bringing those laws here, to build more prisons, because we will not comply! ~ Linne

    • bridget July 15, 2013 at 8:52 am #

      I think the petition is still ongoing. Nothing has been decided at EU level yet…don’t know when it is to be discussed again. When I blogged about this the proposed legislation had just been introduced in Brussels. Hopefully common sense will prevail. It’s good to spread the word…thank you for doing that.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. CorPolitical Cartograms | Eradica - May 1, 2013

    […] SOS….Save our Seeds. (fromacountrycottage.wordpress.com) […]

  2. SOS…Save our seeds. The fight continues… | Straddle The White Line - May 11, 2013

    […] SOS….Save our Seeds. (fromacountrycottage.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

