Tree Surgeons, a new ceiling and a Kiwi.

17 Apr

026

We are very glad that our new garden has quite a few established trees. Trees add height and a feeling of maturity  to a garden while also providing a haven for wildlife. They take up water and give shelter too. In the garden are several Birches,  Alders, Beech, Willow, Flowering Cherry plus several fruit trees, Plum and Apple I think. There are also 4 Poplar trees. Actually I’ll rephrase that. There are 3 Poplar trees.

011

This is the 4th one which was fifty feet tall and dangerously close to the house. Poplar are notorious for being shallow rooted and fairly short lived. It was too tall and to close to the house for Andy to fell safely so the Tree Surgeon was called in. He had all the proper safety gear and the whole job only took about 45 minutes. That included the cutting up of the tree into manageable chunks.

014

I was amazed at how quickly he climbed to the top of the tree. I have no head for heights and felt a bit dizzy looking up at him.

016

Yes! That is a chainsaw dangling behind him. It was running all the time. He cut all the small branches as he climbed up then started on the crown of the tree.

018

He used the stump of the first big branch as a seat while he cut the rest of the crown.

It was a lovely day yesterday, if a bit windy. The tree was swaying back and forth as he worked away, this didn’t bother him at all.

030

I was so glad to see him safely descend the tree again.

034

If you look beyond the table you can see the pile of wood from the tree. Never looks as much as you think it’s going to be. Poplar is not great for burning, doesn’t  give great heat,  but we will chop it up and store it in the shed to season. Mixed with some Ash it will be very welcome fuel in the Winter months.

032

Meanwhile in the house Andy finished putting up the new ceiling in the sitting room today. I did all the filling in on the wall, tomorrow I will sand this off ready for painting while Andy puts on the skirting boards.

036

We are delighted that the ceiling is finished. It took a bit longer than anticipated but was worth all the effort.

035

In the conservatory the Kiwi which was already here has it’s new leaves. It looks very healthy. I would be delighted if we got some fruits. I love the soft downy feel of the leaves. Anyone know where the fruit buds come on a kiwi? I haven’t  had one before so know little about their habit.

15 Responses to “Tree Surgeons, a new ceiling and a Kiwi.”

  1. Charlie@Seattle Trekker April 17, 2013 at 10:55 pm #

    Part of one on my horticulture classes was dedicated to tree cutting, it is quite an art, and really dangerous if not done correctly. I am glad to see you hired a professional.

    • bridget April 18, 2013 at 8:00 am #

      It was definitely a job for a professional all right.

  2. Anne Wilson April 17, 2013 at 11:54 pm #

    April- May for the Kiwi, and harvesting from Nov. Is the one you have self fertile? I don’t know how successful they are in pots, we brought three with us from Spain and planted them out, one female survived so we bought another male which is still in a pot outside, I think I will have to find room for them in either the tunnel or sunroom, I love Kiwi and the ones you buy in shops taste nothing like a fresh one.

    • bridget April 18, 2013 at 7:58 am #

      I’m assuming it’s self fertile Anne. It’s planted in a bed in the conservatory so should be ok. I’ve never had a home growm Kiwi so fingers crossed.

  3. KL April 18, 2013 at 1:34 am #

    Seems like you all really busy..making that ceiling, sanding and polishing and then work in garden..phew…that’s too much work. All the best and have fun 🙂

    • bridget April 18, 2013 at 7:59 am #

      Ah! I love it all really. Nothing like being busy.

  4. The Homesteading Hippy April 18, 2013 at 11:48 am #

    It all looks beautiful! I’ve never grown a kiwi, so I’m looking forward to seeing how yours does.
    ~The Homesteading Hippy

  5. Carolyn @ Carolyns Shade Gardens April 18, 2013 at 1:43 pm #

    Too bad the poplar had to come down, but the process was interesting to see. Love the ceiling too.

  6. elaine April 18, 2013 at 9:33 pm #

    I love to watch tree surgeons at work – we had two trees taken down a couple of years ago – I’m afraid I couldn’t do that job – scared of heights.

  7. bilbowaggins April 18, 2013 at 9:37 pm #

    We have a tree surgeon like that, amazing to watch a pro in action.

  8. linniew April 19, 2013 at 2:00 pm #

    I just planted a pair of kiwi vines too. The leaves on ours are quite round but fuzzy like you describe, so pretty. I would love fruit but the plants are really worthy no matter what. Nice ceiling!

  9. Alberto April 20, 2013 at 9:06 am #

    Hi Bridget, you made a really good job there! Your garden looks bigger than I expected from the past pictures, looks like you’ll have a lot to do in the next months, planning and planting.
    Dad used to have some 10-15 kiwi vines when I was a child. I remember them flowering copiously towards the end of april, beginning of may. We had 3-4 male plants and the rest were females. By the end of summer we harvested so many fruits we had to give them away to friends and relatives. I don’t like the taste of kiwi but I love the plant. I guess yours had been crafted with a male branch, keep an eye on the flowers when they come.

    • bridget April 20, 2013 at 8:27 pm #

      Thanks Alberto! Don’t know if I’ll get fruit as I pruned it hard when we got here. It had been neglected for a while. I like the look of it anyway, fruit would be a bonus.

  10. SmallHouseBigGarden May 13, 2013 at 12:50 pm #

    Goodness me! Those arborists are far braver than I could ever imagine being!
    Your ceiling looks sooooooo pretty. 🙂 it’s fun, isn’t it, getting a new house up to snuff!
    I’ve never grown kiwi either, so look forward to seeing the growth.

  11. Rick December 5, 2013 at 1:06 pm #

    “Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted
    to say that I have really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I
    hope you write again soon!”

Leave a Reply

