All in a day’s work…

9 Apr

005

Yesterday was a nice sunny day if a bit windy. Andy was away for the day so I decided to have a clean up of this area near the back porch. First to go was this Willow planted in the middle of the yard.

010

This area is south facing so it gets full sun, an ideal spot for a plant display. The dogs got the idea I was making bunk beds for their sunbathing. Sorry dudes!

009

Since we moved, two months ago now, the plants had been in this east facing spot beside the shed. Not ideal, especially with the fierce east winds we had for almost all of March.

012

The dogs stayed in their sunspot as the space filled up with plants I brought down in the wheelbarrow, although Lettie is looking a bit worried in this pic.

032

So glad the succulents survived the move and the hard Winter. I do love succulents…they are so resilient. Look at those tiny Daffodils or are they Narcissus? I don’t know the difference! Anyone know what the difference is? All my books are still in boxes so I can’t look it up. I could Google it I suppose…..

028

By evening the area was looking better and I’m sure the plants will enjoy the new position. Still loads more plants to move but that’s for another day. It will be a while yet before plants go into the beds. Things to take out, move about and all that sort of thing.

029

Evening time, table and chairs in position. All we need now is the sun to keep on shining and we can sit and admire the plants.

007

When Andy got back he moved some stones that I just couldn’t budge.

008

He just lifted them effortlessly…and smiled annoyingly all the while…

009

as the stone was positioned beside the new path.

 

22 Responses to “All in a day’s work…”

  1. Martin April 10, 2013 at 12:09 am #

    It’s all looking really good! Well done!

  2. Charlie@Seattle Trekker April 10, 2013 at 3:23 am #

    Love the pictures of your yard/garden starting to wake up and come to life. the dogs seemed to enjoy that process as well.

    • bridget April 10, 2013 at 9:46 am #

      The dogs love it and move around with me as I go from one job to another. Such loyal creatures.

  3. Anny April 10, 2013 at 7:30 am #

    Looking good! I finally braved our garden this week – the back of the house which is north facing, looks to be about a month behind the front – a bit sad now, but hopefully it will improve. I’m re-routing a path – could I borrow Andy!

    • bridget April 10, 2013 at 9:50 am #

      I’ll package him up and send him over!!

  4. skybluepinkish April 10, 2013 at 9:44 am #

    What beautiful photos and please please send the sunshine this way. I have seeds that really do need to get out. Even the greenhouse is chilly.

  5. cindyricksgers April 10, 2013 at 9:45 am #

    It’s looking wonderful…I love seeing the dogs out in the middle of it all. I believe Jonquils and Daffodils are both types of Narcissus, so all daffodils are narcissus, but not all narcissus are daffodils.

    • bridget April 10, 2013 at 9:54 am #

      I’m even more confused now!!

      • cindyricksgers April 10, 2013 at 2:08 pm #

        I’m not surprised…I didn’t give a very good explanation. Narcissus is the family name; jonquils and daffodils are different varieties of narcissus. They are all so lovely this time of year, aren’t they?

  6. KL April 10, 2013 at 11:05 am #

    That backyard looks so fantastic…it would be a lovely place to sit, relax with a cup of tea and read books…ah! an ideal life. It also seems to have an arbor, right? So, some grapes can be grown winding up it. Come out of the house, eat some hanging grapes, fresh from the tree, sit and enjoy :-).

    • bridget April 10, 2013 at 11:49 am #

      There is already a grape vine in the conservatory, I don’t think it would survive outdoors, even under cover. Maybe I should try one. You’ve got me thinking now!

  7. islandthreads April 10, 2013 at 6:17 pm #

    nice work Bridget, it is nice when we can see the results of our efforts, many pets are curious and like to get in on the act, especially if there is a nice place to sunbath 🙂
    Frances

    • bridget April 10, 2013 at 8:10 pm #

      They are such good company too.

  8. Karen April 10, 2013 at 6:19 pm #

    I know you are looking forward to making your new gardens. It is good that the plants survived the move and the winter.

  9. wellywoman April 11, 2013 at 8:49 am #

    It’s all looking good. It’s amazing how the sunshine makes you want to get out and get on with jobs.

    • bridget April 12, 2013 at 8:21 am #

      Yes, the sunshine sure does change everything. It certainly gives me more energy.x

  10. Alberto April 12, 2013 at 10:38 am #

    I love that porch of yours and you really did a good job in there! Even though I’m not really into plastic garden furniture I even like your green chairs, they add some kind of reality to the picture.
    PS: are the dogs sill lying under the succulents?!

    • bridget April 12, 2013 at 11:52 am #

      They can’t lie there now as the space is filled up with plants. As for the green chair…what can I say…

  11. janegerow April 14, 2013 at 4:16 pm #

    really looks nice!

  12. audrey October 3, 2013 at 9:59 am #

    Hey my names Audrey, i am trying to contact the owners of Flynns Cottage, Thanks

    • bridget October 3, 2013 at 1:29 pm #

      Hi! I’m Bridget shared owner of Flynn’s Cottage. How can I help you?

Leave a Reply

