An at home St. Patrick’s Day.

18 Mar

012

Yesterday was a beautiful if cold day. We decided to have a stay at home day. I have seen so many St. Patrick’s Day parades that I didn’t feel as if I missed out. The morning was beautifully sunny and we spent the some of the time enjoying the heat of the sun in the micro climate in the conservatory. That’s my Mum in the pic, she is staying with us for a couple of weeks.

018

After lunch we decided to restock the wood pile in the shed.

015

Yes! That’s my Mum, Lizzie, 77 this year, chopping the logs.

029

Andy did some chopping too.

026

Lizzie and I piled the logs in the wheelbarrow….

023

and I wheeled them up to the shed.

019

A cold week is forecast, 4-5 degrees C, so it’s nice to have a store of chopped logs.

035

After all that it was time for tea and cake. I didn’t bake it myself but it was locally made, bought from Patricia’s Homebakes in the local town of Boyle. I haven’t sussed baking in the Rayburn yet.  The cake was Coffee and Walnut and it was delicious!

014

In the evening we had a nice walk through the forest behind the house, back by the road and up the lane to the house. A nice circular route.

030

Still time to enjoy a swing before heading indoors and watching the Dublin parade on the telly. A full enjoyable day without moving from home.

22 Responses to “An at home St. Patrick’s Day.”

  1. The Earth Beneath My Feet March 18, 2013 at 11:40 am #

    The new property looks incredibly quaint Bridget. I’m sure you’re going to be very happy there!

  2. KL March 18, 2013 at 11:48 am #

    You sure had lots of fun :-). And,it’s amazing that your mother at 77 can chop woods like that. Hopefully, we will be fit like that at that age.

  3. Jane March 18, 2013 at 12:06 pm #

    Please send the lovely Lizzie…we have plenty of logs to chop!
    Jane x

  4. Sarah March 18, 2013 at 12:07 pm #

    Sounds like a great way to spend the day – family, cake and a good walk!

  5. Anny March 18, 2013 at 1:52 pm #

    That all looked idyllic – your mum is impressive! We have a wonderful woodpile, but I’m still trying to get the other half into gear on the wood-burning stove project – maybe this year…

  6. Annie's Place March 18, 2013 at 5:01 pm #

    Looks like a nice day at home and lots of fun things to do at your place. I really like the last photo with the swing and the dog running away

  7. islandthreads March 18, 2013 at 8:42 pm #

    your conservatory looks a nice cosy place to be, your Mum’s a decade older than me I hope I keep going like that, looks like you all had a nice st Patricks day,
    once you get used to your rayburn you will love I’m sure, there was one in my house when I moved in a very old one but once I understood how to use it I loved it, my only problem was that as there was a warm/hot oven most of the time I used to feel I should be cooking something, sadly mine broke and finished it’s life span about 3-4 years ago, Frances

    • bridget March 19, 2013 at 9:04 am #

      Yes, we were lucky to get a place with a conservatory. It is one of my dreams. Maybe today I will bake a cake in the Rayburn…it’s snowing here!
      Bridget x

  8. comfreycottages March 18, 2013 at 9:17 pm #

    That conservatory is so nice to have, Bridget. I just love your new home and surrounding countryside. Good on your Mum still so fit and active! Your tea cake looks delicious. So happy you had time to kick up your heels on the swing :^) xx Love, Leslie

    • bridget March 19, 2013 at 9:06 am #

      Thanks Leslie, I was indeed a nice, happy and joyful day.
      Bridget x.

  9. june March 18, 2013 at 9:31 pm #

    Definitely looks like a perfect and heavenly way to enjoy Paddy’s day. Much respect to your mam, too. Your new home looks heavenly to me, as well. And that conservatory! So big and roomy and comfortable and all that light coming in! After all that work you all did, and then all that rambling you did along that wonderful long stretch of road, you most certainly earned some extra big slices of that gorgeous looking cake – yum! Yes, I’d say it was a wonderful way to spend the day – Paddy’s Day or not. Thanks for sharing all the photos with us, Bridget. Beautfiul – all of it.

  10. Mizz Winkens March 18, 2013 at 10:27 pm #

    Bridget, your mum is quite a lady! An inspiration for sure. : )

    • bridget March 19, 2013 at 9:07 am #

      She sure is! Hope I’m as with it at that age.
      Bridget x.

  11. Caro (urbanvegpatch) March 18, 2013 at 11:43 pm #

    Hello Bridget, I love the look of your beautiful home and quite envy you the conservatory. Your mum certainly knows how to have fun, you’re never too old to have a quick swing! Spending time outdoors is a great way to feel really good and tea and cake just rounds the day off nicely. Thanks for popping by my blog and commenting.

    • Caro (urbanvegpatch) March 18, 2013 at 11:52 pm #

      PS. Just popped back to your last blog – very sorry to read that you had to start your new life without your animals but good that you can still visit them. I’ll update my blog links so that I can keep up with all your progress!

      • bridget March 19, 2013 at 9:12 am #

        Hi Caro! It was a bit odd initially without the animals, we do of course still have our 2 dogs, but it seems like the Universe was changing things for us. We do have more freedom now as animals do tie you down. Also our land now is just three quarters of an acre, perfect for flowers, shrubs and veg growing. We are really happy here and look forward to putting our stamp on the place.
        Bridget x.

  12. Lucy Corrander March 19, 2013 at 9:06 am #

    How fantastic to have a swing. I wish I had a swing! Your new home sounds like a new life.

    I’m revising the list of people following particular trees for this year. Will you be following a tree? Do let me know, either by email – looseandleafy@googlemail.com or by leaving a note on the tree following page on my blog – http://looseandleafy.blogspot.co.uk/p/what-is-tree-following-and-list-of-tree.html

    Thanks – and Happy Housewarming!

  13. cindyricksgers March 19, 2013 at 1:22 pm #

    What a great way to spend the day! St. Patrick’s Day is huge here on Beaver Island, as most of our families immigrated from Ireland in the mid nineteenth century. So, I worked at the local pub, which sponsored games inside and outside with lots of drink and hilarity. It was fun to be in the thick of it, without participating, and it was a big help in shaking off our winter doldrums! Thanks, Bridget!

    • bridget March 19, 2013 at 6:54 pm #

      Sounds like a good day in the thick of it all there. Had’nt heard of Beaver Island, must look it up on the map.
      Roll on Spring.
      Bridget x.

  14. elaine March 19, 2013 at 6:54 pm #

    Your Mum looks like a good old stick – still able to split logs and enjoy a session on the swing too – I hope I am still as active as her at that age.

    • bridget March 19, 2013 at 8:12 pm #

      Me too Elaine, me too.
      xx

  15. madcrowherbals March 20, 2013 at 1:57 pm #

    Looks like a grand day and it left me with swing envy!

    Michael

Leave a Reply

