Happy St. Patrick’s Day.

17 Mar

Chester Beatty & Dooney point walk 014

 

Don’t know if this is the man himself but it fits the popular image we all have of him. This is on a building in the grounds of  Dublin Castle. We went there last week to visit the Chester Beatty Museum.

Today as usual on Paddy’s Day we are at home working in the garden. We always plant some of our potatoes on this day. Ratte is the one we are planting today. Ratte is a lovely chestnut flavoured potato apparently much regarded by French chefs.

Best wishes to you all on this St. Patrick’s Day. Have a happy day!

11 Responses to “Happy St. Patrick’s Day.”

  1. melissa March 17, 2014 at 2:33 pm #

    What a great tradition- to plant potatoes!

    • WoodlandBard March 18, 2014 at 11:13 am #

      I second that reaction, brought a smile 🙂

  2. Anne-Marie March 17, 2014 at 2:44 pm #

    Good Morning Bridget Yes, this looks like St. Patrick to me! Those potatoes sound delicious … I look forward to seeing what they look like when harvested, cooked & mashed! (with lots of butter and garlic, yum!!)

  3. cathsveggies1 March 17, 2014 at 3:24 pm #

    Happy St. Patrick’s Day, Bridget!

  4. puppiesinparadise March 17, 2014 at 5:12 pm #

    Happy St. Patrick’s day, Bridget! I like the picture of the statue.

  5. Eliza Waters March 17, 2014 at 5:43 pm #

    Blessings upon you! Happy St.Paddy’s!

  6. Anne Wilson March 17, 2014 at 5:47 pm #

    Four rows of first earlies done, now out of energy, Ratte will get planted tomorrow in sacks. Have started the cleaning of the tunnel strawberries, do you need any more Bridget? I hate to throw plants away.

    • bridget March 17, 2014 at 5:59 pm #

      You’re still alright for planting spuds tomorrow and indeed Wednesday as both are root days. I don’t really have room for any more Strawberries…maybe a few for pots. Why not save them for the plant swap in April. (11th or 12 I think)

      • Anne Wilson March 17, 2014 at 8:17 pm #

        Good idea, where is it, I will see if I have any small pots left.

      • bridget March 17, 2014 at 10:01 pm #

        Cleen Hall near Knockvicar.

  7. Pam's English Garden March 18, 2014 at 9:59 pm #

    Lovely spring posting! Still snow and ice here so nothing will be planted outside for weeks. But I start my annual flowers indoors from seeds and yesterday I sowed a flat of snapdragons. So it was a happy St. Patrick’s day for me, too. P. x

Leave a comment